As another day of the Canadian Ski Nationals come to a close, the excitement

Publié le par Gilles Lefebvre

As another day of the Canadian Ski Nationals come to a close, the excitement keeps on coming. Like any typical race day, us, the athletes, woke up early and went for a short jog for around 10-15 minutes. It may not seem like much but just the little run will raise our overall temperature earlier during the day for better efficiency. And I guess it’s working. After breakfast which included Gille’s special oatmeal (secret ingrédients), we head for the trails. Once we arrive at the Blow Me Down ski area the first thing we felt like every other day is the wind. Although it wasn’t as fast as yesterday it still packed a wicked punch. Asking my fellow athlete Zach, and also grand champion of the prvious day, staying warm was a little tougher to do. It had to well timed, and finished as close to the start time as possible to not get cold again. According to me, I could’ve finished maybe just a little closer. Well at least I will know for next time, and that’s what I love about ski racing. It’s all about growth, not only physically but also mentally. The friendship made between rivals and fellow athletes is just incredible! I know I’m getting a little off track but I find it’s very important. Some grow faster, some grow slower, but we all share the goal. We all aspire to be like the top racers holding it down out there on the World Cup circuit. It just amazes me… Okay, lets get back on track. As you have previously red , Zachary had held his place as overall leader (wearing the special bib) today during the 7.5 km skate race. Riding up to the trails, he looked a little tired, not sure if he would wake for the race, but the worst thing possible happened! HE FORGOT HIS BOOTS!! Although it wasn’t his fault, he headed back to the house and looked for them. Later after the race, he told me that the little mishap really woke him up. I guess there’s a little good in everything. Nick also had an amazing race. Finishing 7th in the Juvenile Boys category, he couldn’t be happier. Alexe and myself were a little tired in the legs and energy wise, but we gave it our all. As we finish our team meeting, we all get ready to go to bed and we will be dreaming about the races ahead and all the pleasures and joys of the sport we all love, cross country skiing. August PS I hope your English is good enough!!!!

As another day of the Canadian Ski Nationals come to a close, the excitement keeps on coming. Like any typical race day, us, the athletes, woke up early and went for a short jog for around 10-15 minutes. It may not seem like much but just the little run will raise our overall temperature earlier during the day for better efficiency. And I guess it’s working. After breakfast which included Gille’s special oatmeal (secret ingrédients), we head for the trails. Once we arrive at the Blow Me Down ski area the first thing we felt like every other day is the wind. Although it wasn’t as fast as yesterday it still packed a wicked punch. Asking my fellow athlete Zach, and also grand champion of the prvious day, staying warm was a little tougher to do. It had to well timed, and finished as close to the start time as possible to not get cold again. According to me, I could’ve finished maybe just a little closer. Well at least I will know for next time, and that’s what I love about ski racing. It’s all about growth, not only physically but also mentally. The friendship made between rivals and fellow athletes is just incredible! I know I’m getting a little off track but I find it’s very important. Some grow faster, some grow slower, but we all share the goal. We all aspire to be like the top racers holding it down out there on the World Cup circuit. It just amazes me… Okay, lets get back on track. As you have previously red , Zachary had held his place as overall leader (wearing the special bib) today during the 7.5 km skate race. Riding up to the trails, he looked a little tired, not sure if he would wake for the race, but the worst thing possible happened! HE FORGOT HIS BOOTS!! Although it wasn’t his fault, he headed back to the house and looked for them. Later after the race, he told me that the little mishap really woke him up. I guess there’s a little good in everything. Nick also had an amazing race. Finishing 7th in the Juvenile Boys category, he couldn’t be happier. Alexe and myself were a little tired in the legs and energy wise, but we gave it our all. As we finish our team meeting, we all get ready to go to bed and we will be dreaming about the races ahead and all the pleasures and joys of the sport we all love, cross country skiing. August PS I hope your English is good enough!!!!

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
V
I love to read all what`s happenning to you, all what you feel.<br /> <br /> Keep on going good! :)))<br /> <br /> Véro.
Répondre
J
I enjoyed your blogue very much.You gave us a back ground of the excitement of the day
Répondre
J
Enjoyed
Répondre
M
Thanks August...loved the blog :)
Répondre